Perform Simple, Advanced or County Search >>

Month: November, 2019

2019 Annual Membership Meeting 11-22-2019

Friday, November 22, 2019
Approval Pending

North Dakota Appraisers Association Fourth Annual Membership Meeting

Friday, November 22, 2019 at 12:00 Ramada Conference Center - Fargo, ND


The meeting was called to order by President, Joe Ibach. There was a quorum present, 68 of 147 (46%) qualified members.


Welcome to the members and guests by President Ibach.


Agenda Approval: The agenda was reviewed. Motion: Wade Iverson made a motion to accept the agenda as presented. Brie Leier seconded the motion. Motion passed.


2018 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes: The minutes were reviewed. Motion: Al Kunick) made a motion to accept the minutes as presented.  Daryl Kerzman seconded. Motion passed.


2019 Financial Report and 2020 Budget

A financial statement was provided for 2019 and a copy of the 2020 budget, which was reviewed with the general membership. Motion: Noel Johnson made a motion to approve the 2019 financial report.  Carrie Mann seconded.  Motion carried. 

Motion: Neil Eriksmoen made a motion to approve the 2020 proposed budget as presented.  Luke Koterba Seconded.  Motion carried.


Standing Committee Reports


Membership Committee – Dean Rylander, Chair, reported 153 members in 2018 and 147 members in 2019.  The Associate membership is now a policy and is open to anyone else wanting to join in that capacity.


Finance Committee Rhonda Knudson reported on and presented the proposed 2020 budget. The financial statement for 2019 to date was also presented to the membership.  Accounting and record keeping protocols were implemented and used in 2019 and will continue for 2020.


Education Committee Kathy Berry, Chair, reported the NDAA held several classes.  The classes covered a wide variety of appraisal issues and topics.  The next Annual Conference and Education offering will be held in Bismarck on November 18, 19, 20, 2020 at the Ramada.


Public Relations Committee – Wade Becker, Chair, presented a report of work done thus far which included the Associate Membership Brochure and the Membership Brochure.  Additional volunteers are needed for this committee.


Website Committee – Ross Berg, Chair, reported that the website is functioning properly and that several new features were added, such as the map function.  Online registration for classes is working well and the majority of the members have used this feature. 




Bylaws/Policy Committee – Rhonda Knudson, Chair, reported that the committee continues to work on amendments to policy and procedures and will post them on the website. The policy for Associate Membership was implemented.  The committee is currently working with the committee on revisions to the Articles of the Bylaws that need attention.  It will be given to the attorney that helped draft the Bylaws to revise some of the language.  This draft will be presented to the general membership for comment and will be voted on at the next general membership meeting.


Government Relations Committee Joe Ibach, Chair, reported that there are a multitude of issues that this committee addressed and work is continuing.  These issues include the ND Appraisal Waiver and the Diminimus increase in thresholds.  They are working on some proposed legislation and some coordination on Evaluations with the BND.  There are several future issues that the committee is working on and needs more assistance and volunteers.


Old Business

President Ibach updated the membership on the Strategic Plan that was updated at the BOD Summer Retreat in Bismarck.  This updated Strategic plan will be posted on the website.


New Business

The elections results are as follows:

President Elect – Joe Sumers

Secretary/Treasurer – Rhonda Knudson

Director Position – Kathy Berry

Director Position – Nick Duchscher


President Ibach gave some closing remarks and passed the gavel to the incoming President, Bill Gion.   President Gion gave remarks regarding his new tenure as President to the membership.   President Gion thanked Dean Rylander and Tiffiney Dick for their dedication and leadership on the NDAA Board.  President Gion had all veterans stand for recognition and Joe Sumers, the newly elected President Elect (and a veteran himself) led the membership in the Pledge of Allegiance.


Motion by Neil Eriksmoen to adjourn the meeting.  Ross Berg Seconded.  Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned by President Gion at 1:29 pm



Respectfully submitted,

Rhonda Knudson, Secretary/Treasurer

CategoriesHot Topics

BOD Minutes November 20, 2019 - In person Meeting

Wednesday, November 20, 2019
NDAA Minutes 11-2019v.2.pdf
CategoriesHot Topics

BOD Meeting 11-1-19 Minutes

Thursday, November 14, 2019
BOD Meeting 11-1-19.pdf
CategoriesHot Topics
P.O. Box 7521 | Rapid City, SD 57709
(605) 484-1054
Contact Us
Copyright ©2021 NDAA